I have updated my review and giveaway policies page (now just titled Policies above). If you are entering a giveaway, please read and abide by the applicable policy.

Attention Authors! If you arrived here looking for information on the Two Sides to Every Story guest post series, see the tab at the top of the page for more info!

Search This Blog

Monday, March 23, 2015

In-Progress Review & Giveaway: Mademoiselle Chanel by C.W. Gortner

mademoiselle chanel

Mademoiselle Chanel by C.W. Gortner
ARC, e-Book, 416 pages
William Morrow
March 17, 2015

goodreads button

Genre: Historical Fiction

Source: Received from publisher for review for France Book Tours

"For readers of “The Paris Wife” and “Z” comes this vivid novel full of drama, passion, tragedy, and beauty that stunningly imagines the life of iconic fashion designer Coco Chanel—the ambitious, gifted laundrywoman’s daughter who revolutionized fashion, built an international empire, and became one of the most influential and controversial figures of the twentieth century.

Born into rural poverty, Gabrielle Chanel and her siblings are sent to an orphanage after their mother’s death. The sisters nurture Gabrielle’s exceptional sewing skills, a talent that will propel the willful young woman into a life far removed from the drudgery of her childhood.

Transforming herself into Coco—a seamstress and sometime torch singer—the petite brunette burns with ambition, an incandescence that draws a wealthy gentleman who will become the love of her life. She immerses herself in his world of money and luxury, discovering a freedom that sparks her creativity. But it is only when her lover takes her to Paris that Coco discovers her destiny.

Rejecting the frilly, corseted silhouette of the past, her sleek, minimalist styles reflect the youthful ease and confidence of the 1920s modern woman. As Coco’s reputation spreads, her couturier business explodes, taking her into rarefied society circles and bohemian salons. But her fame and fortune cannot save her from heartbreak as the years pass. And when Paris falls to the Nazis, Coco is forced to make choices that will haunt her.

An enthralling novel of an extraordinary designer who created the life she desired, Mademoiselle Chanel explores the inner world of a woman of staggering ambition whose strength, passion and artistic vision would become her trademark."

Please note that this is an in-process review – I am a little over half-way done with the book at the time of this writing. The last two weeks were unexpectedly taken over by my being fairly ill and at the same time having to write my class research paper. A full review will be forthcoming [Full Review Posted on 4/2/15].

Mademoiselle Chanel is author C.W. Gortner’s first foray into more of a contemporary historical fiction novel setting and he excels here just as he does elsewhere!

Gabrielle Chanel had a tough life growing up, but through persistence, hard work, and a little bit of luck, she was able to pull herself (and some of her family) up from poverty into the world where she rubbed elbows with duchesses and other elite. It was amazing seeing her entirely recreate herself and truly make her life her own – when it was pretty much a blank slate to begin with. She was a very interesting woman at a very different historical time. Women were just starting to break out of the stereotype roles – Chanel fought against a lot of adversity from men and other women as she sought to build her own shop/empire.

Gortner’s descriptions of Paris, the convents, and the rich estates that Chanel moved through are beautiful and allow the reader to be able to visualize it in its entirety. I have never been to Paris and have not have much experience reading about this city or time period, so I do not have a lot of pre-conceived knowledge to work with, but I can picture each setting brilliantly.

Gortner also is magnificent at evoking emotions from his readers and that is present here as well. Chanel faces some losses in her life and I admit to shedding a few tears at least once – and I did not even know the characters for all that long! That is saying something!

If you would like to preview the story before reading it, why not try out this excerpt of the book?

Buy the Book: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | RJ Julia | IndieBound | HarperCollins


Also by C.W. Gortner:

the last queen
The Last Queen

confession of catherine
The Confessions of Catherine de Medici
[My Review]

the queen's voq
The Queen’s Vow
[My Review]

tudor secret
The Tudor Secret (Book 1 Elizabeth I Spymaster trilogy)
[My Review]

tudor conspiracy
The Tudor Conspiracy (Book 2 Elizabeth I Spymaster trilogy)
[My Review]

tudor vendetta
The Tudor Vendetta (Book 3 Elizabeth I Spymaster trilogy)
[My Review]

About the Author:

Mademoiselle Chanel - CW GortnerC.W. Gortner is the international bestselling author of six historical novels, translated in over twenty-five languages to date. His new novel, “Mademoiselle Chanel”, traces the tumultuous rise to fame of iconic fashion designer, Coco Chanel. In 2016, Random House will publish his eighth novel, “Vatican Princess”, about Lucrezia Borgia.

Raised in Spain and a long-time resident of the Bay Area, C.W. is also dedicated to companion animal rescue from overcrowded shelters.

Find C.W. Gortner: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Subscribe to Gortner's Newsletter

Follow the Tour!

Mademoiselle Chanel banner

France Book Tours Webpage for Mademoiselle Chanel


**Please note that these giveaways are tour-wide and the rules are set and giveaway hosted by the tour coordinator**

There are lots of great giveaways up for grabs on this tour!  To enter to win one of the following four prizes, please complete the giveaway form below.

Open to US only.

There will be 6 winners:

  • 5 printed copies
  • 1 beautiful, handcrafted beaded bracelet inspired by Coco’s black-and-white signature colors and camellia design



Copyright © 2015 by The Maiden’s Court


  1. thanks so much for your review. Even though it's in process, it already gives a good idea of the greatness of the book. Thanks for mentioning the other books by the same author. I can see he has a faithful reader in you. I'm glad you liked this one. Emma at FBT

  2. Of late, I haven't read any other books about famous women, but I love this author.

  3. What other book did you recently read on a famous woman?
    I love reading about famous woman. I am currently reading the fiction about the famous girl in the painiting 'Girl With the Pearl Earring'.

  4. Gortner is one of my fave historical fiction writers and I have to say this might turn out to be my favorite by him of all!

  5. I can't wait to read it. Sounds like an interesting read. The last book was about Mary Pickford . Thank you for the chance.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  6. I can't wait to read it. Sounds like an interesting read. The last book was about Mary Pickford . Thank you for the chance.
    Carol L
    Lucky4750 (at) aol (dot) com

  7. Thank you for your terrific review, Heather. Always a pleasure to be hosted here. I'm honored and hope your readers enjoy "Mademoiselle Chanel."

  8. Thank you for your terrific review, Heather. Always a pleasure to be hosted here. I'm honored and hope your readers enjoy "Mademoiselle Chanel."

  9. It would probably be Katherine Parf or Anne Boleyn.


Thanks for leaving your comments! I love reading them and try to reply to all!