I have updated my review and giveaway policies page (now just titled Policies above). If you are entering a giveaway, please read and abide by the applicable policy.

Attention Authors! If you arrived here looking for information on the Two Sides to Every Story guest post series, see the tab at the top of the page for more info!

Search This Blog

Monday, February 15, 2016

The Vatican Princess Blog Tour Kick Off!!

Hey all, my review that was scheduled to go live today to kick off this tour has had to be delayed because my review copy was literally lost in the mail.  So while we await my copy to arrive, here is what is in store from this book!  I'm super excited to get my hands on it and the review will be forthcoming.

The Vatican Princess by C.W. Gortner
Hardcover, audiobook, & e-Book, 400 pages
Published February 9, 2016 by Ballantine Books
ISBN: 0345533976
Genre: Historical Fiction

Book Blurb:
For fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, a gripping novel that follows the extraordinary life of young Lucrezia Borgia, the legendary Renaissance Pope Alexander’s beautiful daughter. Was she the heartless seductress of legend? Or merely an unsuspecting pawn in a familial web, forced to choose between loyalty and her own survival?
Glamorous and predatory, the Borgias became Italy’s most ruthless and powerful family, electrifying and terrorizing their 15th-century Renaissance world.
To this day, Lucrezia Borgia is known as one of history’s most notorious villainesses, accused of incest and luring men to doom with her arsenal of poison. 
International bestselling author C.W. Gortner’s new novel delves beyond the myth to depict Lucrezia in her own voice, from her pampered childhood in the palaces of Rome to her ill-fated, scandalous arranged marriages and complex relationship with her adored father and her rival brothers—brutal Juan and enigmatic Cesare. 
This is the dramatic, untold story of a papal princess who came of age in an era of savage intrigue and unparalleled splendor, and whose courage led her to overcome the fate imposed on her by her Borgia blood.
Read an Excerpt (about half way down the linked page)

Listen to a Sample from the Audiobook

Praise for The Vatican Princess:

“A tale of passion, political intrigue, and poisonous power. Assiduously researched and expertly crafted, this novel takes readers inside the treacherous world of the Borgias—one of history’s most dysfunctional ruling families—and brings to life the sympathetic and freshly imagined character of their leading lady, Lucrezia. This unholy plunge into Rome’s darkest dynasty is wholly engrossing.” (Allison Pataki, New York Times bestselling author)

“A spiderweb of Renaissance intrigue with a cast of legendary characters, The Vatican Princess tells Lucrezia Borgia’s story in her own words. Impressive research, a lush background, and deft characterization of these turbulent times make for a fascinating read.” (Margaret George, New York Times bestselling author)

“Elegantly written and deeply researched, with a pacy style and a fine eye for contemporary detail . . . The world of Renaissance Italy is vividly brought to life—I’m captivated by this knowledgeable author’s take on the controversial Borgias.” (Alison Weir, NYT bestselling author)

“Here is a marvelously evocative portrait of a young woman caught in a bewildering web of jealousy, family rivalry, vengeance, and papal politics. This is historical fiction at its best, written by a master of the genre.” (Patricia Bracewell, author of Shadow on the Crown)

Buy the Book: Amazon | Barnes & Noble | RJ Julia

About C.W. Gortner

C.W. GORTNER holds an MFA in Writing with an emphasis in Renaissance Studies from the New College of California, as well as an AA from the Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising in San Francisco.

After an eleven year-long career in fashion, during which he worked as a vintage retail buyer, freelance publicist, and fashion show coordinator, C.W. devoted the next twelve years to the public health sector. In 2012, he became a full-time writer following the international success of his novels.

In his extensive travels to research his books, he has danced a galliard at Hampton Court, learned about organic gardening at Chenoceaux, and spent a chilly night in a ruined Spanish castle. His books have garnered widespread acclaim and been translated into twenty-one languages to date, with over 400,000 copies sold. A sought-after public speaker. C.W. has given keynote addresses at writer conferences in the US and abroad. He is also a dedicated advocate for animal rights, in particular companion animal rescue to reduce shelter overcrowding.

Half-Spanish by birth and raised in southern Spain, C.W. now lives in Northern California with his partner and two very spoiled rescue cats.
Find C.W. Gortner: Blog | Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Pinterest | Youtube | Newsletter

Follow the Tour:

HFVBT Website

On Twitter: #TheVaticanPrincessBlogTour  #HistoricalFiction  #LucreziaBorgia  #Italy 

My Reviews of Other C.W. Gortner Books:
     The Tudor Secret             The Tudor Conspiracy           The Tudor Vendetta
★★★                         ★★★★½☆                     ★★★★ ½☆ 
   The Confessions of                The Queen's Vow                 Mademoiselle Chanel 
Catherine de Medici              ★★★★½☆                    ★★★★☆        


Copyright © 2016 by The Maiden’s Court

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for leaving your comments! I love reading them and try to reply to all!